Ovrlay - there's a map for that

Ovrlay - Frequently asked questions
Ovrlay allows you to add geo-coded overlays using your iOS device. Here are answers to a few common questions.
Adding Ovrlays :
  • add an overlay

    Adding an overlay is simple. You can do it in 3 easy steps.
    First tap the + button on the top left of the screen.
    Then :
    * enter the location of the overlay
    * enter the url of the map image of the overlay. Pinch, zoom or drag to re-position the image
    * When done, enter the overlay image name to save the overlay

    At this point, you can activate the overlay. But you might want to add a few places first.

    If you want to see how the overlay will be displayed to users, you can display it in 'View' mode.

    Added overlays will not be available to the users till the moderator approves it. Once it is approved, do not forget to share your overlay over Twitter, Facebook or email

  • add multiple floors

    Adding multiple floors is easy. Just name the first floor image as -1.png (or gif / jpg). The remaining floors will be added automatically. Please make sure the original images stack up on the same coordinates

  • change the name of an overlay

    Select the overlay in Edit mode. Then type the new name and tap <Enter> key

  • change image associated with the overlay

    This is not supported at this time

  • change location associated with the overlay

    This is not supported at this time

Adding / Editing Places :

If the overlay is active : you must de-activate it. Then select the overlay in edit mode. Then to :

  • add places to the overlay

    First select the floor number where the place is located. Then tap on the overlay where the place is located. Type the place name and tap <Enter> key

  • fix a typo in the name of the place :

    Select the place. Tap on the Pencil icon to edit the name. Type the new name and tap <Enter> key

  • move a place :

    Select the place. Tap on the Pencil icon to edit the name. Type the new name and tap <Enter> key

  • delete a place :

    Swipe left on the places table to make the Delete button visible. Tap on the Delete.

  • add a custom place :

    To add a custom place, long press on the location of the place. A popup will be displayed with options for the type of place. Tap on the icon to select the place. As of now, wifi locations, restrooms, escalators and elevators are supported.

Do not forget to activate the overlay when you are finished with places editing. Your beloved users will not be able to view the overlay in de-activated state

Adding / Editing Routes :

If the overlay routing is active : you must de-activate routing for it. Then select the overlay in edit mode. Routing needs three pieces of information :

  • nodes
  • node connections
  • entry nodes
Tap on the Walking man icon to Enter the routing mode. Then to :
  • add nodes to the overlay :

    In the routing mode, tap on the map to add a node.

  • add node connections :

    Tap on the first node to select it. Then tap on the second node to connect it to the selected node. You have defined a bi-directional path between the two points

  • move nodes :

    Drag the node marker to the new location

  • delete a node

    Tap on the node to select it. Then tap on the red ‘x’ button to delete it. You cannot delete an active node (which has paths leading to it)

  • delete node connections

    Tap on a node connection (blue line) to select it. Then tap on the red ‘x’ button to delete it.

  • add boundary polygon

    Boundary polygons are needed to determine routing accurately.

    In the Routing mode, long press anywhere on the map to switch to boundary editing mode. The tap on the map to create a boundary polygon.

  • change boundary polygon

    Changing a boundary polygon is only possible by deleting the original boundary polygon, and creating a new one. First tap inside the boundary polygon to select it. Then Tap the red ‘x’ button to delete it. Draw the new boundary polygon.

Do not forget to activate the overlay routing when you are finished. Your beloved users will not be able to find directions when routing is de-activated.